Guest reviews

Here are ALL our guest reviews since we opened, roughly in date order, unedited.  

Most of these reviews have appeared on public websites like tripadvisor.  Just ask us

if you want to check one out.  

Some guests mention the old auberge; its the old name for what we now call the the barn.

 

 

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful

We only had a short stay, but will be returning next year for a wedding, and wanted to check things out. From the moment we turned into the drive we knew this was the perfect place. John could not have more helpful, taking time and care to discuss what we want, even down to live musicians on the day.
The venue itself is, simply, wonderful. It offers every possibility it seems: gorgeous views across French countryside, a picturesque village on one horizon, and small lake, grassed lanes for gentle strolls, large terrace and courtyard for entertaining (up to 100?), and abundant grassy areas for chats and nibbles and drinks. Inside is cool and spacious, and upstairs presents comfortable ensuite bedrooms. The kitchen area is very appealing – well stocked and able to cater for large groups.
We are already excited about going back in June, and would quickly recommend it to anyone who enjoys peace and calm and a touch of rural French magic for a special occasion.

Tripadvisor, September 2017

A magical stay at the magical le Puget

Our stay at Le Puget was TRUELY magical. The house is exceptional, with all the tools to create some delicious meals and BBQs. 

Ridiculously comfy beds, beautifully decorated rooms, and so many games, cds, records and dvds to keep us entertained in the evenings. John and Jaynie were the perfect hosts giving us lots of interesting and useful local information and their warmth and generosity even extended to helping us when I was ill! The setting and their land is wonderful, walks by fields of sunflowers, a beautiful lake and a wonderful viewing point to watch the sun set over the mountains (in the company of a friendly horse) with a lovely glass of wine. …. and then the pool!!! So clean and big, with the perfect comfy pool furniture and inflatables!
So many fond memories were made and so sad to leave. We will be back!
I cannot recommend this beautiful place highly enough!

Tripadvisor, August 2017

Perfect place for relaxing

The area is amazing, the views sublime. The house is cozy and well equiped. Le puget has lovely gardens, fresh figues and a perfect swimming pool. John can advise you on wine and nice places to visit or hike. We would like to go back!! Thanks!

Tripadvisor, July 2017

Fabulous

The Farmhouse was situated amidst stunning countryside, very peaceful which was exactly what we were looking for. Whilst the temperatures soared, the Farmhouse remained cool, particularly at night. It was very well equipped, everything you could possibly need was available.
John Haward was an excellent host and introduced us to exceptional Lanquadoc wines which this area is renowned for, he was also an excellent source of local information.
Mirepoix, the nearest small town was delightful both on market days and for evening meals.
We hope to return.

Tripadvisor, June 2017

Lovely large rustic property with all mod cons for a great get away from it all for a large group

We stayed at this really lovely property with our family including our four grandsons who absolutely loved it. They were able to run around the large grounds, play and swim in the pool, play table tennis, pool, chess and other games provided. They also went fishing in the lake and caught quite a number of fish! 
The house is very well equipped and had everything we needed. 
We visited the near by town of Mirepoix on Market day. It is a delightful town with good shops and restaurants and the market was excellent.
John and Janie were very friendly, helpful hosts.
Owners Direct / Homeaway, June 2017

Lieu très agréable, au calme et pour nombreuses personnes

L’endroit est vraiment agréable, situé en pleine nature. Vous pourrez y croiser des chevaux et des moutons.
La maison est très spacieuse et adaptée pour une location avec de nombreuses personnes. Nous étions 6 adultes et 6 enfants et nous n’avons manqué de rien.
Il y a de nombreux équipements comme une piscine, baby-foot, billard. 
Le propriétaire est très sympathique et s’assure que tout se passe bien.
Nous y avons passé un très bon séjour et nous y retournerons avec plaisir.

Tripadvisor, May 2017

A perfect retreat

Le Puget rose to the occasion with aplomb and style. Celebrating a significant birthday with 13 people from all points of the compass was a tall order but Janie and John handled it with ease and grace. We were never hurried, never worried, and drifted from meal, to terrace, to garden, to pool, to meal, to bed in a dreamy daze. John’s cooking was superb and inspiring, and inspired me to try some of his dishes and publish on my food blog Hecichera. Take a look for a longer post on Le Puget.

Tripadvisor Sept 2016

 

Full of French character and charm

Le Puget offers guests a completely authentic experience of rural France in an elegant auberge full of character and charm. If you are looking for a restful and restorative holiday, this is the place for you. The accommodation was perfect for our party of 8 with oodles of space to relax, read and enjoy french cuisine as well as having the french countryside with fabulous walks on the doorstep. Ours Hosts Janie and John could not have been more hospitable and helpful including hosting a sumptuous evening meal for us on arrival in front of a roaring fire making it a memorable start to our holiday. Highly recommended.

Tripadvisor Oct 2016

 

Peaceful heavenly bliss

We stayed here with a group of friends to celebrate a 60th birthday. It was total heaven. Le Puget is peaceful and the memory of breakfast in the field bathed in golden October sunshine will stay with me forever. John and Janie are wonderful hosts, the food and wine was divine. This is a very special place. It would suit a large group but it is a place for a retreat, so if you want vibrant night life this is not the place to stay. We had wonderful meals and lots of laughter and silly games.

Tripadvisor Oct 2016

 

The photos say it all

Sometimes photos on these types of websites can be deceptive; but these show le Puget as it really is – a lovely old auberge, carefully renovated by Janie and John and full of character and interest (le Puget and them!).
You can wander down to the lake or go for longer walks in the beautiful countryside around, with medieval towns nearby to explore and wonderful local vineyards.
Janie and John are excellent hosts – friendly, kind and knowledgable, as well as being great cooks and wine experts! Definitely to be recommended!!

Mary, Tripadvisor Oct 2016

 

Totally relaxing

We’ve stayed at Le Puget before and it never fails to deliver. From the moment you drive up to the ivy-clad courtyard and park in the stupendous barn, you’re in paradise. There’s oodles of space to relax, from the terrace to the swimming pool, with views to the nearby village or over fields of sunflowers. The beds are great and the whole place has a truly relaxed atmosphere – loved the large sofas by the fireside for a lazy afternoon. The hosts John & Janie are everything you could wish for – helpful and friendly and never intrusive. John’s a superb cook so I definitely recommend organising at least one evening when he’ll tantalise your taste buds, with local produce – we had stuffed guinea fowl one evening and it was out of this world, especially when matched with local wines. This is a real retreat, a salve to modern life, which means sleeping to the sounds of owls rather than traffic, but Carcassonne and Mirepoix are nearby, and we found ourselves stopping at various other villages – there’s so much to see. Can’t recommend this place highly enough.

Colin, Sydney Australia, Tripadvisor Sept 2016

 

Idyllic French holiday

The setting of this charming rural accommodation makes you believe you are in the French movie of your dreams. Manon des Sources could be offering the sweetest figs direct from a tree. Isabelle Huppert could be disagreeing with you about Existentialism over le petit dejeneur on the veranda table that overlooks the valley and nearby medieval village. Better still, you could image yourself with Alain Delon dans la piscine (or with Romy Schneider/Jane Birkin if you are so inclined). We were a gay couple part of a mixed group on a special celebration. We were all seduced by the place, surroundings, food and the hosts Janie and John. With their knowledge of the local culture and sensitivity towards the needs of the guests, they made our expectations of an idyllic French holiday come true.

Nelson, London UK, Tripadvisor Sept 2016

 

Best rural holiday of my life

Our fourth trip to Domaine de Puget, and the nicest rural holiday we’ve even taken (and we’ve taken a lot in our time). Everything was delightful: the very comfortable accommodation (the plentiful library made me feel as though I was still at home!), the delicious dinner left by John on our first night, the beautiful surroundings, with wonderful walks to take each afternoon, the helpful leaflets left on local beauty spots and place of interest, John and Janie’s good advice on where to go and what to see, the tips on where to shop in the beautiful local town, Mirepoix, and the pool, in which I swam most afternoons. After a very busy late summer, we spent a week feeling thoroughly relaxed, and very healthy for all the fresh air and good gentle exercise. And John and Janie also very kindly booked us in to a superb local restaurant (L’Abbaye du Camon) so we could have a delayed celebration of my birthday one evening. Altogether a wonderful stay, and I’d warmly recommend Le Puget as one of the most lovely holiday places in France.

Tripadvisor, Sept 2016

 

Living the good life

 The perfect getaway – spacious, comfortable, and with the loveliest hosts in John & Janie who make sure you have the best time. We were part of a group and ate every night in a different place – from the wonderful courtyard shaded by an ancient olive tree to the dining room with its fabulous fireplace. The pool was terrific and welcome after a ‘busy’ morning at the local market. Lovely walks from the house itself and so easy to drive to the nearby treasures of Mirepoix and Carcassonne. Reluctant to leave my comfy bed and the sheer tranquillity of the place. Highly recommended.

Owners Direct, Sept 2016

 

Perfect place for a rural French holiday

 The charm and beauty of this rural setting is reminiscent of a French film at their best. You can imagine Manon des Sources offering you the sweetest figs straight from the tree. Isabelle Huppert could be discussing Existentialism with you over the petit déjeuneur on the garden table overlooking the valley before the nearby medieval village. Better still, you could dream of frolicking dans la piscine with Alain Delon (or Romy Schneider/Jane Birking if you are so inclined). We were there as a gay couple part of a large mixed group. Janie and John captivated all of us with their charm, amazing food and deep understanding of the local culture and of what we tourists wanted from a French holiday. Highly recommended.

Owners Direct, Sept, 2016

 

Superb property, ideal location

This is a superb property consisting of and old farmhouse and a large barn conversion. Both properties are extremely well-equipped with, in the case of the barn, everything from a professionally equipped kitchen to a piano, we couldn’t have wished for more; there is also a large swimming pool and a barn where you can park your car undercover.
The owners were very welcoming and accommodating and gave us advice on what to see & do, of which there is plenty as the property is ideally situated between Carcassonne and Mirepoix, there are also plenty of walks available directly from the property. The owners also prepared a celebratory meal including wine for 12 of us and pulled out all the stops to ensure we all enjoyed it, which did immensely.

John C, Tripadvisor, Aug 2016

 

This place is a magical wonderland

We can’t say enough about this place. We enjoyed our stay so much. John and Janie were wonderful hosts and Janie even gave me some clothing items since our luggage was delayed. The setting was beautifully remote, but a close enough drive to all the cool places and castles, Carcassonne, Toulouse, Albi, and the charming old town of Mirepoix where art fairs and puppet shows were happening. We hope to visit again sometime.

Tripadvisor August 2016

 

 

If you read all of the other reviews they say everything we would say. This place is simply wonderful. We enjoyed every minute. Hosts John and Janie were so nice and helpful. Janie even gave me a couple of beautiful clothing items since our luggage was delayed. Loved the remote location, but it was close drives to Carcassonne, Mirepoix, and even did day trips to Toulouse and Albi. We can’t say enough! Would love to visit again.

Jodi Prescott, Arizona, USA, Sawday

 

“Our fourth trip to Le Puget – and it just gets better and better. Wonderful food, superb looking after from John and Janie, idyllic surroundings, lovely accommodation – it doesn’t get much better than this! Our best Sawday place – and there’ve been a lot of good ones! “

Kate – London, UK, Sept 2016, Sawday

 

“This was our 4th stay. As always, it was superb. John and Janie are perfect hosts. Wonderful food, local tips and conversation, or quiet and privacy if preferred. A rare find and perfect retreat.”

Anthony – Sydney, Australia, Sept 2016 Sawday

 

“I have just returned from an amazing stay at Le Puget with 12 friends. The perfect location for a holiday for a big group of friends – unbelievably beautiful countryside, a gorgeous big pool and sunbathing area, table tennis and lots of games, a stunning old French house and auberge with nice bedrooms and en suite bathrooms, a great big kitchen and dining area, two terraces for outside eating with lovely views of sunflower fields, a bbq and John and Janie were really obliging and generous with lots of suggestions and advice when we needed it. I can’t wait to return.”

Chloe – London, Sawday, July 2016

 

This I what you had in mind – staying on the French countryside, sunflowers, wine, pool, stunning views

We booked the smaller house (Farmhouse) for a family of 5 (4 adults and one 2 year old). We needed a place close to Mirepoix and Carcassonne. We pictured south of France, sunflowers, hills and sun. We got more. The house is spacious, well decorated and fully equipped. The house stays nice and cool in the summer and there are different terraces you can use based on sitting in the sun or shade. There is a lot of open space to barbecue or have a walk on the massive property. The pool is very nice. Views are stunning. You do need to drive for your shopping but hey – you’ve booked the countryside. As for the host, John and Janet were very, very friendly and have made our stay an absolute pleasure. Advise on where to eat and what to drink was very helpful. I would definitely recommend to book this. We will come back, probably for a longer stay.

Van Wieren, Aug 2016

 

Such a wonderful stay

We arrived back on Saturday evening from a delightful 5 night stay at Le Puget – there were 13 of us in total so we rented both the farmhouse and the barn and all had a wonderful, fun, relaxing and luxurious time in Le Puget. The owners were so welcoming and helpful and we on hand to help with any questions and provide useful information, but also they just left us to it to relax and enjoy the grounds and Le Puget. The pool is fantastic and the views and grounds are stunning. The houses had everything we needed and more – it was so nice to stay somewhere which was all set up for lots of people – multiple sun loungers and sofas and chairs – it was a true joy to cook in the huge, really well equipped kitchen and to have so many choices of dining areas and seating zones around the houses! The bedrooms were all beautiful and comfortable and came with lovely linen and towels (and pool towels) – all the bedrooms in the main farmhouse had en suite batrhooms and the barn had a gorgeous modern, huge walk in shower in the big bathroom. Mirapoix is the closest big town and is a real treasure – beautiful medieval architecture and some fantastic restaurants on offer. We ate in Le Commerce on our last night and had a truly delicious (and reasonably priced) feast. We tended to go into town every day to get supplies and fresh produce and then cook big feats but there are so many places to eat that you could go somewhere different every lunch and dinner! The local wines and cheeses were fantastic and of course the bread and fresh meats were divine. We were all so sad to leave and are already planning our return next summer – it is a perfect place to stay and chill out in the beautiful surroundings of the French countryside, or to explore the many wonderful, historical and cultural towns and villages all around. Highly recommend!

Tripadvisor, Alexandra, July 2016

 

Perfect

We recently had a wedding to attend in the south of France it is the first time that myself and family have been to the rural regions of France ..close to the Pyrenees Mountains. I have to say ..breathtaking!!!.is an understatement, what an absolutely incredible and inspiring place to go. We stayed at the barn domaine de Puget which we had read excellent reviews about and it seemed to cater for the size of our party and had facilities for both us and the kids and also an elderly member of the party which I have to say John (owner) when the out of his way to accommodate for. The actual property is stunning the pictures seem tiny compared to the actual size of this place if the pictures impress the reality will be overwhelming absolutely huge…front and back stunning views and a relaxing courtyard which is so peaceful at breakfast ..property is exactly the taste of decor you would want and expect from this kind of property, all round absolutely out of the top draw! Pool is immaculate Table tennis well positioned Pool table indoors is fab MASSIVE MUSIC AND DVD CHOICE..really helps when you have kids and great for setting the tone for wine and conversations accompanied buy great food prepared in their very high spec and very spacious kitchen. 8 burner hob. Two full size ovens underneath.. When you enjoy cooking. walking out of your own kitchen is usually daunting when preparing food for others.  This kitchen is been thought through very well and using it is an absolute pleasure. Other things to note:- Loads of land, beautiful walks, huge array of wildlife from Golden eagles, otters, huge moths glowworms, carpenter bees et cetera et cetera …many of which I’ve never seen before! If I continue then John will have nothing to share with you upon your arrival I can only conclude by saying if you can, you absolutely must go!!!this an enchanting, delightful and most pleasant experience. 10/10 John.  You and your wife are a credit and we very much appreciated the extra effort you made to make it perfect for us!

Dave H, July 2016

 

Stunningly beautiful, very well equipped

I have just returned from an amazing stay at Le Puget with 12 friends. The perfect location for a holiday for a big group of friends – unbelievably beautiful countryside, a gorgeous big pool and sunbathing area, table tennis and lots of games, a stunning old French house and barn conversion with nice bedrooms and en suite bathrooms, a great big kitchen and dining area, two terraces for outside eating with lovely views of sunflower fields, a bbq and John and Janie were really obliging and generous with lots of suggestions and advice when we needed it. I can’t wait to return.

Samuel B, Jul 2016, Tripadvisor

 

Superb property, ideal location

This is a superb property consisting of and old farmhouse and a large barn conversion. Both properties are extremely well-equipped with, in the case of the barn, everything from a professionally equipped kitchen to a piano, we couldn’t have wished for more; there is also a large swimming pool and a barn where you can park your car undercover. The owners were very welcoming and accommodating and gave us advice on what to see & do, of which there is plenty as the property is ideally situated between Carcassonne and Mirepoix, there are also plenty of walks available directly from the property. The owners also prepared a celebratory meal including wine for 12 of us and pulled out all the stops to ensure we all enjoyed it, which did immensely.

John C, Aug 2016, Tripadvisor

 

Cette maison est parfaite pour prendre du repos dans le calme et le silence. L’époux de Janie qui nous a accueilli a été très gentil, très accommodant. Simple, efficace, discret et attentionné. Merci beaucoup !

Pierre- Hervé, July 2016, Airbnb

 

Perfect end to our French vacation

We stayed at Le Puget in May 2016 as a group of 11 for the last days of our two week trip. John met us when we arrived and was sure to leave some wine in the fridge for us. The property was perfect and we were able to visit many local sites by car. We arranged for John to cook us dinner with wine pairings and the dinner (and setting) was perfect. The bubbly was to die for! We also loved the kitchen at the property, as we were able to prepare several meals ourselves. John also made sure we knew which local bakeries had the best breads, and which one had the the best croissants. I’d visit again in a heartbeat.

May 2016, TripAdvisor

 

In a word – fabulous

Fabulous: Accommodation, hospitality, views and to top it all – weather! We were staying as part of a large party of wedding guests and the layout of the very comfortable accommodation made it easy to stay alongside people who we did not know. John and Janie were excellent hosts who went out of their way to make our stay special. I would recommend Le Puget for anyone wanting to relax in near idyllic surroundings. My only regret was that I did not arrange car hire as transport is definitely needed to make the most of the surrounding areas.

Jane S, Sept 15, Tripadvisor

 

Peace and tranquility

Well what can I say that hasn’t already been said. Janie and John are wonderful hosts friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The barn and the farmhouse clean and comfortable, pool table, massive CD collection for all tastes. Lovely swimming pool a little chilly when you first get in but you soon become used to it. A real gem of a place would fully recommend for peace and relaxation and a good base for exploring an truly beautiful area.

Hellsbells Sept 15, Tripadvisor

 

Slice of French heaven

Upon arrival we were immediately delighted by a picturesque courtyard, Olive tree and the old farmhouse and knew we had arrived somewhere very special. The farmhouse itself is very well equipped and spacious with all the modern amenities you’ll ever need. The rooms impeccably clean, the spotless sheets and beds very comfortable. So many private places to relax, eat, explore and take in all aspects of the enormous property. Such an exciting place for our boys to wander and to take in the hill top views and breath in the country air. Best of all enjoyed with GnT in one hand and a sunset of course. We thank John for his fantastic hospitality and have already eyed up the larger Barn property for a holiday with a bigger group next time. We shall be back.

Katherine, June 2015, Tripadvisor

 

Unique and memorable

What a unique and memorable experience. The hosts are delightful and remarkably hospitable; we were greeted with an excellent bottle of local wine on arrival, and John gave us a wealth of information about the region and took the time to sit with us and answer all our questions and freely share his experiences. The property is in a spectacular location–a hilltop with a lovely view of a nearby village. The kitchen was top notch–well equipped, tons of space. Great location close to Carcassonne and the Mirepoix market. The best experience of rural France you could ask to have. We will be back!

Leah, September 2015, Airbnb

 

Peace and tranquillity

A truly superb property in a stunning setting. Domaine De Puget has great facilities from a well equipped kitchen to the lovely swimming pool an extensive library, huge cd collection and a variety of games as well as a piano and pool table. The views from the terrace are stunning whatever the weather and on a night the lack of light pollution makes it excellent for stargazing. John & Janie are excellent hosts offering a wealth of local knowledge. You do need to drive due to the location.

Vikki N, August 2015, Trip Advisor

 

Stunning, relaxing, idyllic spot

We chose Le Puget for our family reunion, a group of 15 coming from Toronto and Israel. It was just perfect!  John and Jane were most welcoming hosts, friendly, helpful and not intrusive. The villa itself is spacious with plentiful room for privacy or group settings,  Our children ranged from ages 6-24, and we were 3 couples, 1 grandmother, and 8 children.  There were activities for all, ping pong, billiards, swimming pool, piano, extensive library, movies, music, comfortable sitting/visiting areas inside and out. Gorgeous outdoor space, beautiful nearby towns, stunning views, awesome day trips with gorgeous nature and interesting history. The kitchen is large with an extensive collection of utensils and serving pieces to accommodate our large group.

We were often torn between our day trips and just lounging around our lovely surroundings. I highly recommend this lovely tranquil spot for an idyllic vacation.

Linda, August 2015, Trip Advisor

 

A special family holiday

Following my retirement, I wanted a really special family holiday, 3 generations, and we found it at the superb accommodation provided at Le puget.  John and Janey couldn’t have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. The barn and farmhouse were delightful, far exceeding our expectations from the photos, loads of space, beautifully appointed, and comfortable. Everything we needed was there and special requests attended to. The swimming pool was refreshing and in spite of some cool weather (which took us by surprise )was warm enough to take the 2 year old in. It was a lovely area to get together at the end of the day.

The surrounding countryside has many places of interest to visit. My only regret was that we were unable to stay longer! !!

Anny B, August 2015, Trip Advisor

 

Great Place

It was a week without worries, good food, fantastic drinks and charming&friendly people around. We charged in a positive way our batteries and this experience made our lives more valuable. The house is fantastic, great view and the girls liked the pool very much. Also the region is well worth visiting, Mirepoix is very charming and you have to diner in Hotel La Commerce where time stood still for 50 years which is already charming, the food and service are memorably. Also the Cathar history and castles are very interesting.

We definitely will come back to this fantastic place and region

Eddy, July 2015, Trip Advisor

 

In a word – fabulous!

Fabulous accommodation, hospitality, views and to top it all – weather!

We were staying as part of a large party of wedding guests and the layout of the very comfortable accommodation made it easy to stay alongside people who we did not know.

John and Janie were excellent hosts who went out of their way to make our stay special.

I would recommend Le Puget for anyone wanting to relax in near idyllic surroundings. My only regret was that I did not arrange car hire as transport is definitely needed to make the most of the surrounding areas.

Jane, July 2015, Trip advisor

 

The very best

Sometimes holidays don’t take care of the important stuff, like family, food, peace, rest, fun and togetherness. I can safely say John and Janie provide a landscape where the important stuff (not just John’s wine selection’s) is fulfilled in abundance. Difficult to say its a home from home but if I did have a 55 acre home it would be something like Le Puget. Go if you want to smile and relax, be welcome and feel as though you have returned to an old friend. Don’t go if you want a beech, nightly entertainment and water slides. If you do go, walk out to the fields with a bottle of ‘in region’ red and enjoy the sunset

Anonymous, July 2015, Owners Direct

 Great place, bags of space

My family stayed at Le Puget in July. John was a pleasure to deal with through the booking process and provided lots of useful information in advance of our arrival. The property is fantastic, very well looked after and extremely spacious. It is also very well equipped, the kitchen in particular – good to have some nice glasses and decanters for our wine. Similarly the pool – situated in its own walled garden – is great. There is a substantial collection of DVDs available to borrow. It is a good base to explore a number of interesting places nearby, although there is nowhere very close requiring a longer trip to buy bread/groceries etc – not a problem, just need to be organised for shopping.

Lou, July 2015, Trip Advisor

Great!

I and my wife were at Le Puget one week in July. The property was better then we expected and the owners are fantastic – they did everything to make us feel welcome. The house we stayed in (there are two) was well equipped, all you need for everyday life. If you are searching for peace and tranquility, it is a perfect place to go. The surroundings are beautiful, a truly rural area, with lots of interesting things to do in daytrips. We had a wonderful time and would most definitely concider to return to Le Puget!

Matgla, July 2015, Trip Advisor

Slice of French Heaven

Upon arrival we were immediately delighted by a picturesque courtyard, Olive tree and the old farmhouse and knew we had arrived somewhere very special. The farmhouse itself is very well equipped and spacious with all the modern amenities you’ll ever need. The rooms impeccably clean, the spotless sheets and beds very comfortable. So many private places to relax, eat, explore and take in all aspects of the enormous property. Such an exciting place for our boys to wander and to take in the hill top views and breath in the country air. Best of all enjoyed with GnT in one hand and a sunset of course. We thank John for his fantastic hospitality and have already eyed up the larger Barn property for a holiday with a bigger group next time. We shall be back.

Katherine, June 2015, Trip Advisor

Sheer delight

I’d like to keep this treasure to myself so it goes against the grain to recommend it so highly but its exceptional owners, Janie and John, deserve better. Our second stay at le Puget, this time in early June , managed to exceed my expectations yet again. Last year we had a wonderful family holiday in August booking the whole Domaine. This year we took the Farmhouse for 12 days in order to explore the region further.at a slower pace.

Same great hosts, same first class accommodation and practical help that makes the holiday so much easier: detailed travel instructions from airport: guidance to spectacular walks, ‘must see’ places of interest and local and regional eateries and help with comforts such a pillows, walking sticks, choosing our wine for us etc. that make a difference to an older guest. Le Puget’s immediate environs are beautiful and for me create an harmonious fullness that I bring back home and long to get back to.

Linda, June 2015, Trip Advisor

Bliss

Some context first – We were looking for a large, self contained, self catering, accommodation as a venue for my 40th Birthday. It must be large enough to accommodate a minimum of 12 adults and 1 child.

If you are looking for a large, private location for a large group, close to the Pyrenees, reasonably driving distance from a major regional air port and a beautiful setting. This is the place.

We stayed a week and there was 12 adults and one child but the accommodation could easily accommodate more children if required as there were rooms free. We took over the main residence as well as a smaller annex / cottage. Both backed onto the other and enabled us to continue with the family atmosphere unimpeded.

The Kitchen in the main house is HUGE with everything you can imagine. Everything from coffee grinders to a moroccan tagine pot. There are two dish washers, two fridges, two ovens and a large range. If cooking on holiday is your thing, this place has it in spades.

The bedrooms are basic but incredibly clean. Most have en-suite and are reasonably spacious. My only gripe is the lack of air con which can make sleeping in the summer tricky BUT I currently live in a country where I have the air con on every night so I’m a little spoilt..

The grounds and scenery are just beautiful and going beyond the grounds you are, in my humble opinion, one of the nicest, quietest places in France. Its just stunning. Mirepoix which is just a short drive away is, again in my humble opinion, one of the most amazing medieval towns anywhere. The main market square is something to behold and just sit and enjoy in one of the beautiful cafe that surround it.

Last but by no means least are the owners Janie and John who live on site but are by no means intrusive in anyway. Far from it in fact. By way of introduction over a glass of wine, Janie will tell you the in’s and out’s of not only the property but also the surrounding area. They were incredibly helpful and will cook the entire family a meal for a small extra charge per head. just delightful.

All in all, and as the rating states, this was a wonderful and beautiful place and I would love to go back if I have the chance again.

Abu Dhabi, June 2015, Trip Advisor

Excellent accommodation

We have visited twice, once with family in high summer and once by ourselves in early summer. A lovely, peaceful and spacious place with a beautiful swimming pool and an entrancing rural atmosphere. Hosts very welcoming.

June 2015, Trip Advisor

A peaceful retreat with everything available

This was peace and luxury on tap. We had the ‘cottage’ (which was enormous!) plus one room in the big house and access everywhere. We sat in the sun reading some of the time; drove to local sites (Carcassonne, Montségur etc); ate out (following John’s invaluable advice), brought food in, or had food made for us. It seemed very flexible if you want to decide day-by-day. There was a lot of space – and even a piano!

Noel, May 2015, Trip Advisor

What a Wonderful Holiday!

This was our third visit to Le Puget, and it did not disappoint! As always, John and Janie were wonderful hosts. We stayed in the Farmhouse, a beautiful cottage, exquisitely furnished. A delicious dinner was left for us on arrival, John and Janie were always on hand to recommend good restaurants and give travel tips, and we had a lovely drink with them on their terrace with an idyllic view over the hills on our penultimate evening. The Farmhouse is extremely comfortable, and we felt thoroughly at home – we even had our own private garden! We were able to see a lot of the beautiful surrounding area, and do a great deal – ranging from cultural visits to Toulouse and Albi to a gastronomic lunch at the wonderful Table de Franck Putelat in Carcassone (which John recommended) and some lovely local walks – and also spend a lot of time relaxing, including swims in Le Puget’s excellent outdoor pool, and browsing in the Farmhouse’s extensive book collection. All in all a wonderful trip, and we’re already planning our return visit. South of France doesn’t get any better than this.

Kate, May 2015, Trip Advisor

Wonderful Location

 The Farmhouse has a wonderful location: easy to get to from Toulouse Airport and easy to find by following the owner,John’s excellent directions and yet situated in a quiet and secluded rural setting.

The property was comfortable and well equipped and we soon felt very much at home, There are some delightful walks in the surrounding estate and some excellent places for picnics and for sitting and reading.

We took day trips to Mirepoix, the Cathar castlee at Montsegur, and to Carcassone, and John proved a very good source of advice on local restaurants as well as being a capable chef in his own right.

Olly, May 2015, Owners Direct

The perfect retreat

I have stayed at Le Puget three times now – twice on family holidays in the height of summer and once in November for a quiet week of writing and walking. I can honestly say it’s perfect for both – the family enjoyed the pool, the Pyrenees, the Cathar castles and kayaking the rivers – all within an easy drive – and, of course, the fabulous food and drink. Mirepoix, the nearest town, is superb – a perfectly preserved 13th century market square surrounded by all the cafes, restaurants and food shops you’d put in your dream French town. John and Janey are great hosts – knowledgeable and passionate about the area, its attractions and its produce, equally happy to cook and entertain or to leave you to your own devices. And in the long autumn that lasts till Christmas, the hills were superb for walking, the air clear, and the views to the Pyrenees spectacular. We will be back!

Guy, November 2014, Trip Advisor

 “A feast for all the senses”

A stay at Le Puget is a real treat! The spacious and comfortable farmhouse was a wonderful home-from-home (only with a better equipped kitchen, and comfier beds…. Hmmm I wonder if John and Janie would mind if we moved in?) They were the perfect hosts, rustling up delectable food and full of local knowledge from wine to walks. And all set in the most gorgeous scenery in the sun-kissed Pyrenean foothills. A truly blissful, relaxing stay – we’ll be back.

Jen, August 2014, TripAdvisor

A tranquil corner of La France Profonde

We spent a supremely relaxing week at Le Puget in the summer of 2014. Our accommodation was the farmhouse which is spacious, comfortable, well-equipped and a lovely place to unwind. Le Puget lies in an attractive and peaceful setting, surrounded by nature and ideal for exploring on foot or just taking in the view. There are various different natural habitats, woods and wildflower meadows, a pond, farmland, wild boar and many species of birds.

John and Janie were very welcoming hosts and a great source of local information and historical knowledge. John cooked truly delicious meals for us using local ingredients accompanied by well-chosen wine – a true gastronomic experience!

Mirepoix is a delightful local town to visit and we also enjoyed some walks in the area, but our priority for the week was relaxation and we found ourselves spending a lot of time in and around the pool, reading, sunbathing and playing table tennis. Le Puget really was the ideal location for our holiday.

August 2014

So much to see and do

I’ve been meaning to write a review for ages about our fantastic stay at Le Puget in July this year. We were a fairly large party of 6 children of varying ages and 3 adults and the house was ideal for all ages with plenty of space. Stunning walks and views and a lovely pool. There is so much to see and do in that area that a week isn’t long enough. John and Janie were so welcoming and helpful, even arranging the Tour de France to pass by at the end of the drive way. They were a mine of information on the history of the region and advice on places to go and organised a delicious dinner for one of our evenings, full of locally sourced food.  Thank you John and Janie, we’d love to come back, if you’ll have us!

Victoria, Sept 2014, TA

Spark rekindled….

‘Spark rekindled’ A strange title but a remark made by son that sums up the healing effect of our all too short stay at le Puget. Family holidays require there to be ingredients to suit all and these were undoubtedly present. The Domaine more than lived up to its descriptions. The pool was much enjoyed by all, aesthetically as well as physically. The information supplied, travel directions especially, was detailed, accurate and extremely helpful. It is a beautiful place in a lovely region with an atmosphere suffused with history and tranquility – ‘and wine’ my husband reminds me as I get carried away! Yes, we enjoyed some gorgeous wines there thanks to John’s expertise and the ‘arrival’ supper we requested was truly delicious. The owners, John and Janie, were kind and considerate at all times and their seamless efficiency and good taste contributed enormously to the pleasure of the holiday. There is lots to do in the area but it is such a delightful place that one can just sit and unwind in privacy with a book if so inclined. We very much hope to return in the not too distant future.

Linda, August 2014, Owners Direct

Cannot fault anything

Janie and John could not have been more welcoming. They went out of their way to make sure the place was right for us and then kept in regular contact before we were due to arrive to make sure we had everything we needed. The location is delightful.  The medieval town of Mirepoix, 15 mins away is both charming and has everything you need to survive.
The Old Auberge is quiet with lots of space to explore and wind down.
Inside the simple bedrooms with own bathrooms were perfect with a big mixed group of people.  Downstairs was a huge space, lots of comfortable places to relax, a huge kitchen with great big fridge – always a bonus for cold drinks.  Lots of flexible eating spaces inside and out. The option to have cooking done for you is also a major bonus for special occasions. The pool in a walled garden area was perfect. Can’t really fault anything and hope to book for longer next time.
Mark, airbnb july 2014

Great hosts
John and Janie are great hosts.  They did everything we expected and more, and seemed really concerned that our family’s visit to the Old Auberge went as well as we wanted and expected.  The accommodations were as advertised and were perfectly clean, comfortable and well prepared for us.  The countryside around Le Puget is lovely and Mirepoix, the nearest town is a gem.  Local wine is very good.  Literally the only problem was the weather — but that was clearly atypical.
David, airbnb july 2014

A special place
We stayed at Le Puget for a few days recently and have no hesitation at all in registering appreciation for the place itself, the hosts and the wonderful landscapes and all that go with them. The domaine itself is beautiful and calm with gentle views over farmland punctuated by ancient hilltop villages. The nearby cities of Mirepoix, Carcasonne and Toulouse are beautiful and resonant with a tragic history, great markets and wonderful food. We stayed in the farmhouse which we were delighted to have all to ourselves whilst the wonderful host John recovered from a large hen party the previous week. In fact, I don’t think he really wanted any guests that week but he made time and space for us for which we were truly grateful. The house is very comfortable (great bed) well equipped and welcoming, situated in a peaceful enclosed courtyard and with it’s own garden. it would be easy just to chill and never go out if that is the kind of holiday that is wanted, particularly given the easy access to gentle local walks and the swimming pool. In spite of his tiredness, John welcomed us with wonderful wine and food on our first evening and was an invaluable source of support when illness and air traffic control strikes threatened. He must have regretted his decision to allow us to stay but we did not! In spite of these challenges, we managed to have a wonderful break at Le Puget and that just about sums it up. The place is unique and wonderful. We will certainly return !
Maria, Tripadvisor July 2014

“One of the loveliest and most peaceful places I’ve ever visited… a real pick me up..!!”
My wife has stayed at Le Puget a number of times, and always spoke very highly of the property and surroundings, so when the opportunity presented itself of us going away without the kids, we jumped at it. It was absolutely wonderful – just a few days away but a vacation in every sense! Lazy days and nights in heaven. Clearly also an ideal place for larger groups to do as fancy takes them – unwind, celebrate, go on retreat, indulge in passionate conversations late into the night and generally recharge batteries with the help of local food and wine (which the host can advise and also provide). A true gem. We’ll definitely be back!
Dafydd, Tripadvisor June 2014

Very spacious….

I stayed at Le Puget in June along with my friends. Le Puget is very large spacious house with lovely views on the Languedoc. Well equipped kitchen, swimming pool, cozy bedrooms, large terrace and a huge area for the morning-evening walks led to the fact that we wanted to stay at home rather than going out.
John and Janie welcoming hosts who are happy to help. In the first evening we were welcomed with a traditional French dinner and excellent local wine.
We all liked very much the general ambiance of the house, and definitely will be back again.

Tatyana, June 2014, Tripadvisor 

“What is this life if full of care, we have no time to stand and stare”

Plenty of stunning views here to behold. Back again for another stay, and of course, John & Janie haven’t dropped a gear. Their attention to detail is faultless and they spend their time ensuring your stay wants for nothing. Really goes without saying…. we’ll be back.

Iain, Tripadvisor June 2014

Magical

“In May, 4 friends and I basked at Le Puget for 6 glorious days! We stayed in the larger building, spacious but cozy. Our perfect hosts John and Janie provided delectable local cheeses and wines, and welcomed us with a delicious vegetarian meal. We so enjoyed this charming English couple! Delights included shopping in the Mirepoix market, cooking in the huge kitchen, and feasting on the patio overlooking a rolling green landscape. Walks in the oak forest were magical, and driving by fields of blowing wheat picturesque. We toured daily then relaxed by the fire. I could have stayed forever!”

Sawdays, May 2014

Quintessentially French…..a little gem

“We were fortunate to have stayed at Le Puget last week. This is a quintessential French rural farmhouse that has been comfortably updated without losing its heritage. John is a charming and discrete host whose Chicken Orvieto recipe we have adopted. Get him to cook it for you, you will be well rewarded. His wine cellar is a haven of local wines and the Cremant Limoux is to die for. In spite of the unseasonally unclement weather we loved this little gem and throughly recommend it for both couples and larger groups. Great place John thanks for everything. Nigel”
Nigel, Sawdays April 2014

Perfect hosts…..Excellent!
“John and Janie are the perfect hosts. We have been staying at B&B’s and gites in France for about 30 years and we have yet to meet more welcoming and helpful owners. As a bonus, they are delightfully cultured, John is a fabulous cook and they are genuinely good company. They also know a great deal about the area, the sights and venues (not to mention the food and wine!) so we were able to use the limited time of our week’s stay very effectively.  And the accommodation in the farmhouse was marvellously well thought out with everything we needed and one of the comfiest beds in France! Excellent!”
August 2013, sawday

5 star – “And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow” W.B. Yeats”

Le Puget is one of those finds you might wish that you had kept just for yourself, but then that would be a truly selfish act. The centre of the domain consists of living accommodation in the Old Barn & Farmhouse, surrounding a charming courtyard. Gardens with fig, olive & cypress trees lead to an enclosed garden with swimming pool. Views of the snow-capped High Pyrennees may be glimpsed. A long meadow stretches down to a tree-lined lake, from which the old hamlet of Gaja-la-Selve rises up on a hill top. Think God’s Country. The setting is perfect, and matches the consummate hospitality offered by the proprietors. In an age where service is often wanting, John & Janie are truly at the top of their game, offering outstanding cuisine sourced locally, quality accommodation, local knowledge to impart to their guests, and yet still find time for a chat over a glass of whatever takes your fancy.
Sept 13, TA

5 star – a wonderful stay

This is now my fifth stay at Le Puget. I’ve both stayed in the Farmhouse and the Old Auberge with my family twice and three times with a group of friends. Le Domaine de Puget is to me both holiday and home! Holiday in that the area is stunningly beautiful, the location peaceful and natural. Home in that it just feels that way; welcoming, comfortable, spacious and with a lovely attention to details, for example, flowers picked from the garden in the rooms, lovely bedding and comfortable beds. Janie and John are always welcoming. John’s knowledge of local food and wine has depth and substance … it shows in the fantastic meals they offer table d’hote … do make sure you take up that option! Janie is a charming and engaging host. The area has lots to offer, the ancient town of Mirepoix has the most stunning architecture and the lively large market is a must do trip. My partner loved the cycling, a bit hilly for me but the walking is excellent.
Nov 13 OD

5 star – tranquility in Cathar country

What seems like a hundred years ago, but was actually June, we discovered the beautiful countryside that lies between the Black Mountains and the Pyrenees and was home to the Cathars and so much more history. Not only that, but we were lucky enough to find a home for the week that was peaceful and relaxed with kind and knowledgeable hosts where nothing was too much trouble. If you choose to come, a warm welcome awaits and we would recommend you don’t seek the local restaurant but dine at the table d’hote. Johns cooking of local ingredients sourced quite literally from within 20km or so and Janie’s attention to hospitality made it memorable and so very enjoyable! We will be back.
Nov 13 OD

5 star – the teenagers enjoyed it

Le Puget was our first stop on a touring holiday, travelling to Toulouse by train and then hiring a car. Our fourteen year-old daughter and her friend were in Le Puget’s pool within a few hours of arriving at Toulouse station. We had a great time at Le Puget, including table football, swimming and a wonderful meal cooked by John. There are lots of shady places to sit outside and relax, and longer walks to enjoy the views. Nearby Mirepoix has a lively weekly market with buskers, and lots of small interesting shops to browse. Janie and John are great hosts: they make the whole family feel welcome and at home. Even the teenagers enjoyed their stay!
Sept 13 OD

5 star – fabulous hospitality

We spent 4 fantastic nights at Le Puget in late March. John and Janie were fabulous hosts and made this a memorable family break in a beautiful and peaceful location. The time spent and skill displayed in the preparation of meals using the best quality local produce and matched with fine Languedoc wines exceeded all expectations. We also greatly appreciated the guidance provided in planning our day trips. We greatly look forward to a return visit in the very near future.
Sept 13 OD

5 star – feels like home

I absolutely love Le Puget! Each time I visit, I feel as though I am coming home. I’ve stayed in the Auberge a couple of times with other families, and we loved the huge living spaces with table football, acres of books and lots of sofas to curl up in, and the views from here are amazing. Very importantly for me, there’s a well equipped kitchen with all the equipment and gadgets I could ever need. We enjoyed the enormous log fires during the cold March evenings, after daytime walks in the wonderful countryside in glorious sun-shine! As I have back and neck problems, Janie, our host, suggested I sleep in the luxurious Tempur bed with Tempur pillow. Absolutely perfect! I slept better here than I do at home. When I last visited in October this year, I stayed in the Farmhouse, perfect for just one family. The two bedrooms were large and comfortable and oh joy, one had a huge Tempur bed! The apple festival in Mirepoix was a great experience, with enormous apple sculptures in the main square and surrounding streets. Sitting here with a beer watching the world go by was just bliss. The hosts, Janie and John, truly want every guest to get the most out of their stay. Theirs is genuine Hospitality. I hope I shall be able to visit Le Puget with friends and family for years to come.
Oct 13 OD

5 star – a wonderful discovery

We were so lucky to find Le Puget – it was the first time we had all ventured to this part of France and the region and the amazing property really made this a great holiday for our thee families. We were made to feel well and truly welcomed by John and Janie, both properties were of exceptional quality and as keen cooks we were overwhelmed by the standard of the equipment, and incredible kitchen facilities. The extensive library of books, CDs and old record collections made it as easy to unwind indoors as well as explore the area. As hosts John and Janie really put themselves out, sourcing cycle rides, canoe trips and even lighting the outside pizza oven which for the 7 children was a complete highlight. This is a very special place of exceptional quality and we all look forward to returning in the not too distant future.
Oct 13 OD

5 star – an inspiring place to stay

I’ve been to Le Puget twice now with a group of friends, and intend to keep coming back! It’s an inspiring place to stay – the sense of space is fantastic, with the wonderful large dining and lounging spaces (perfect for groups) and the glorious views over rolling countryside. Walking to the nearby village and driving around offers a taste of the real France, but on cooler days, it was hard to drag ourselves away from the roaring log fires and massive sofas. Janie and John are amazing hosts – friendly, warm, knowledgeable and interesting, but never intrusive. There is a sense of generosity about this place which is very special. The bedrooms are simple and it’s great to have your own ensuite in such an historic building. Each time I’ve been, I feel re-energised!
Oct 13 OD

5 star – another wonderful stay at le Puget

This was our third consecutive summer visit to Le Puget, with family ranging from 9 years to 79 years! The farmhouse and fabulous surrounding countryside are ideal for our annual family get-together and large enough to find your own space if required. John and Janie are perfect hosts – friendly, on hand when required and full of helpful, local knowledge. If you want to stay put you can chill by the large swimming pool or play table tennis, table football or pool. Alternatively there are plenty of walks from the farmhouse – bird watching is excellent, 65 species and counting within a 5 minute walk. Nearby Mirepoix is well worth a visit with its medieval square, market and good restaurants. You will not be disappointed!
Oct 13, TA

5 star – glorious countryside, great food, welcoming hosts; the perfect retreat

We can’t recommend Le Puget highly enough. This was our second visit. We stayed in the farmhouse – superbly restored and furnished, with plenty of space, comfortable sofas, a well-appointed kitchen and a luxurious bathroom. John and Janie could not be more welcoming – or better hosts. Their food is superb, and the selection of wine even better! There’s a great mix of private, shady garden, a swimming pool, acres of farmland and miles of shady footpaths to follow. Further afield, Mirepoix is a beautiful market town with a fantastic market, and the Pyrenees always in sight. We will be back!
Oct 13, TA

5 star – Hospitality personified in a beautiful locale

We had a perfect few days here. John, as a host is magnificent; his local knowledge is excellent; plenty of recommendations of where to visit and for long walks in the beautiful countryside. For food and wine he is also an excellent cook and expert, so it was a perfect stay. Mirepoix is a gem of a small town and the church at Vals is worth a large detour to visit. All in all a perfect place in which to unwind and be spoilt.

4 star – wonderful stay at le puget

We were a party of 13 so hired the whole domaine and had a wonderful week. Le Puget is a fabulous property in stunning location. The photos cannot really do justice to the spaciousness of the farmhouse and the surrounding areas, it felt very exclusive and a real retreat. The vast kitchen has every piece of equipment you could desire and more so! John and Janie are the perfect hosts, always around enough to help out and answer questions, with lots of useful local knowledge. John’s pizza-making skills using their wood-fired pizza oven was a real highlight and the kids loved helping out. The swimming pool area was not quite as attractive as the rest of the grounds but the pool was warm and a good size and we spent many happy hours there. Definitely recommend this property and I am sure we will be back!
Sept 13 TA

5 star – Oasis of peace, tranquility, and excellent food

Le Domaine de Puget is set in the most spectacular countryside, the views from the garden are wonderful.
The property is spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. 
An afternoon spent by the pool is a delight, not least because the pool is so clean.
Janie and John are excellent hosts and the food is to die for….. can’t wait to return.
Sept 13, TA

Wonderful….
“Wonderful 3 day stay at Le Puget. John and friendly dog Amber made us feel very welcome. The farmhouse accommodation was very comfortable, and John provided us with a delicious Cassoulet meal, homemade jam and walnut pesto, and drove us around his fields in his Land Rover to a high point where we could see Monsegur in the distance. The patchwork of harvested wheat fields and sunflowers ready for harvesting made a stunning yellow and black landscape. We even saw eagles. We hope very much to return for a longer visit to this peaceful place. “
September 2013, sawday

Charming…..

“”Le Puget is a wonderful hideaway in the foothills of the Pyrenees with stunning views of the mountains in the distance. I spent a couple of days there with a friend and two boys. Janie and John are gracious and welcoming hosts and the farmhouse and self-catering accommodation are not only beautifully arranged and serviced, but offer many distractions with which to while away the time: swimming, table tennis, fine food and wine, country walks, bird watching. The surrounding towns and villages have markets selling the best of French rural fare and even evening entertainment. Charming!””

Sawday, August 2013

Warmly recommended……

“We can’t recommend Le Puget highly enough. This was our second visit. We stayed in the farmhouse – superbly restored and furnished, with plenty of space, comfortable sofas, a well-appointed kitchen and a luxurious bathroom. John and Janie could not be more welcoming – or better hosts. Their food is superb, and the selection of wine even better! There’s a great mix of private, shady garden, a swimming pool, acres of farmland and miles of shady footpaths to follow. Further afield, Mirepoix is a beautiful market town with a fantastic market, and the Pyrenees always in sight. We will be back!”
August 2013, sawday

Magical…….
“This was our 2nd magical family holiday at Le Puget. John and Janie are warm, generous and welcoming hosts (as is Amber, their curious and friendly dog). Le Puget is set in stunning countryside, well equipped, comfortable and stylishly furnished. There’s a great swimming pool and table tennis. The Languedoc is rich in history and mystery with amazing landscapes (including below ground). There are more market towns within an easy drive than you can ever visit in one (or even two) holidays and so many places to visit that we hope to go back again! We can’t recommend Le Puget highly enough!”
July 2013, sawday

Great pool

“Le Puget is set in stunning countryside, well equipped, comfortable and stylishly furnished. There’s a great swimming pool and table tennis. The Languedoc is rich in history and mystery with amazing landscapes (including below ground). There are more market towns within an easy drive than you can ever visit in one (or even two) holidays and so many places to visit that we hope to go back again! We can’t recommend Le Puget highly enough!””

Beguiling……
“We came in search of peace, calm and relaxation and this is what we found at Le Pujet. John and Janie were perfect hosts throughout our stay. We were warmly welcomed from the moment we arrived, made to feel totally at home and very quickly settled into Le Pujet’s beguiling atmosphere. The food was of a very high standard- all locally sourced. We shall certainly be returning !
July 2013, sawday

Quiet, space, and hospitality…….
” I was seeking quiet and space with hospitality in this lovely countryside. Le Puget offers this fully. John and Janie provided these with careful consideration. The accommodation is comfortable and spacious and our meals were magnificent. John’s fine selection of regional and local wine and cheese matches his skill as a chef. They are considerate hosts taking trouble to arrange or guide our visits locally. Le Puget will easily accommodate a large group of friends. Your own transport is essential but you are well placed to visit all the major sites in the region. Warmly recommended.”
July 2013, sawday

Wonderful, relaxing…..
“We were there for a short break to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had a wonderful, relaxing time. The farmhouse was extremely comfortable and peaceful. On two evenings, we had dinner cooked in house, it was absolutely delicious and served so stylishly. This is a real refuge in a stunning area. The view of the Pyrenees from the top of the drive is truly breathtaking and we enjoyed trips to Carcassonne and Montsegur as well as immersing ourselves in the Monday market at Mirepoix. We were beautifully looked after and would love to return.”
May 2013, sawday

Quite glamorous……
“It’s set in the rolling countryside, with views all around of the hills and the local small village. The building itself is lovely and while rustic it also is quite glamorous and very comfortable. The rooms are very large with extremely comfortable beds, Breakfast was served on the terrace outside with the views of the fields. The hosts put on a big locally made spread for all of the B & B guests and others staying in the smaller farmhouse. We contributed to the cost and ate fantastic locally produced and made food. The atmosphere was wonderfully convivial. Highly recommended”
August 2012, sawday

Lovely pool …delightful experience…..
“Staying at Le Puget was a delightful experience. John and Janie are wonderful hosts and make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. All the rooms are very comfortable and tastefully furnished. There is a wonderful terrace with countryside views where breakfast is served to B and B guests and a library for local guidebooks and maps. There are superb views and walks from Le Puget itself and in the local surrounds. A great base for visiting Carcasonne and walking in Cathar country as well as relaxing at Le Pujet itself and enjoying the lovely swimming pool “
August 2012, sawday

Truly enjoyable…….
“I cannot recommend Le Puget highly enough. The accommodation is relatively simple, but extremely comfortable, whilst the food and wine on offer were divine. John and Janie are lovely hosts, and were extremely hospitable, catering to our every whim with good grace. The food was delicious, and the wine list very well chosen. There is much to do in the local area, and John is a mine of information. The swimming pool provides a lovely opportunity to cool off after a long day’s walking. I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends – and have, on several occasions. A truly enjoyable place to stay”
August 2012, sawday

Charming …..wonderful hideaway…..
“Le Puget is a wonderful hideaway in the foothills of the Pyrenees with stunning views of the mountains in the distance. I spent a couple of days there with a friend and two boys. Janie and John are gracious and welcoming hosts and the farmhouse and self-catering accommodation are not only beautifully arranged and serviced, but offer many distractions with which to while away the time: swimming, table tennis, fine food and wine, country walks, bird watching. The surrounding towns and villages have markets selling the best of French rural fare and even evening entertainment. Charming!”
August 2012, sawday

Stylish…perfect hosts…….
“Highly recommended! Couldn’t have hoped for a more restful break: tranquil Le Puget has stunning views, fab food, superbly comfortable & stylish accommodation with great facilities (lovely pool, handsomely equipped kitchen, loads of books and acres of space inside & out). John & Janie are perfect hosts: there when you need them-to cook delicious local food & wine or share tips on the surrounding Cathar country- whilst giving you plenty of space. Lots to do locally (Carcassonne, mediaeval Mirepoix, super walks) but we were as happy simply to relax amongst Le Puget’s rolling sunflower fields. ”
August 2012, sawday

Seclusion and luxury…..
“We have enjoyed a wonderful two weeks of seclusion and luxury at Le Puget. The spacious high quality accommodation in the farmhouse could not be faulted, and for those of us not tempted for a swim in the sheltered, refreshing pool could even follow every moment of the Olympics on the widescreen BBC. John, Janie [and Amber, their gorgeous dog] are wonderful hosts, taking time to advise on the area and its food and wine, as well as preparing a delicious al fresco meal on our first evening as we arrived slightly dishevelled from the airport. Many thanks to Janie for booking our canoe trip too.”
August 2012, sawday

Like stepping back in time…..
“Le Puget was a wonderful place to relax whether in the different gardens or by the pool. Set amongst vast fields of sunflowers, there were plenty of places to go for long walks and take in the breathtaking scenery. Within easy reach of mediavel towns Carcassonne and Mirepoix. I particularly enjoyed market day in Mirepoix, feeling like I had stepped back in time. John and Janie could not do enough to make my stay more enjoyable and the food and wine they served was fantastic! Le Puget was the perfect place to escape from my normal hectic life in the UK. ”
July 2012, sawday

Excellent base…..
“We spent a wonderful two weeks at Le Puget with our children aged 5 and 3 years. The location was perfect – a beautiful (child-friendly) rural setting for rest and relaxation and an excellent base from which to explore many other wonderful places for days out. We stayed in Le Puget’s Farmhouse – spacious, clean and furnished with care and attention to detail. Our hosts John and Janie were warm, friendly and very hospitable, and extremely knowledgeable of the local and not-so-local areas, cuisine and wines. Highly recommended!”
July 2012, sawday

Perfect hosts……
“We will be returning to Le Puget in July 2013 for the third year running, which is a recommendation in itself. The farmhouse and fabulous surrounding countryside are ideal for our annual family get-together and large enough to find your own space if required. John and Janie are perfect hosts – friendly, on hand when required and full of helpful, local knowledge. If you want to stay put you can chill by the pool, alternatively there are plenty of walks from the farmhouse. Nearby Mirepoix is well worth a visit with its medieval square, market and good restaurants. You will not be disappointed!”
July 2012,sawday

Beautiful grounds…. peace and quiet……
“I visited this place for a long weekend last week, looking for some sun and a bit of peace and quiet and I wasn’t disappointed. Le Puget is only a 40 min drive from Carcassonne airport and set in beautiful grounds with some of the best views the region has to offer. There are great places to sit and read whether it is in the orchard or by the pool, wonderful walks across the fields and the courtyard to sit and eat is simply beautiful. Janie and John could not have been better hosts…. attentive, but allowing for privacy, the perfect combination. (and fantastic cooks!) A drive to nearby Mirepoix was very worthwhile especially on Market day. I had a fantastic weekend and I would certainly recommend this one…..a great find.”
June 2012, sawday

Great place…..
“Wonderful 4 day stay. Tranquil setting. Great walks. Birds a plenty, including Hoopoe and Bee eater, Merlin and kingfisher on the lake. Wonderful hosts and Mirepoix is such a fabulous town. Great place for a group of friends (9 of us from the US, Oz, UK and Spain) to get together, relax and do our own thing.”
Sept 2012, sawday

Most magical of places…..
“This is the most magical of places. Stunning views, clean and comfortable accommodation, wonderful hospitality. A meal with the Janie and John is a real treat for local produce and wines! A must for anyone who loves France. we have visited twice and I really can’t recommend it enough.”
Sept 2011, sawday

Real style…..
“My wife and I visited Le Puget for a few days in June. We thought it was great. Its very spacious, very calm and peaceful, and our house was well equipped and comfortable. Hard to think of a nicer place for a relaxing break. Have dinner too – the whole experience is unfussy but has real style.”
June 2012, sawday

A delight…..
“What a wonderful place to have a holiday! We stayed for a week and could have stayed longer. John and Janie were marvellous hosts, providing a delicious meal for three nights of our stay, recommending good restaurants for the other nights, and full of good ideas for places we could visit. The gardens and the walks nearby are a delight, and the pool was very refreshing after a day’s sight-seeing. We stayed in a beautifully furnished self-catering cottage, full of good reading matter. The location of Le Puget is wonderful – very near Caracassone, Mirepoix and lots of other places of historical interest; we also visited Toulouse and Albi, where we saw some fantastic art. A wonderful holiday – we definitely want to return to Le Puget soon.”
May 2011, sawday